Movistar Team claimed on Thursday its second victory in as many chances so far to take national jerseys in Europe this week. The Eusebio Unzué-managed squad saw Alex Dowsett snatching the Blues' 25th victory of 2015 with a convincing performance in Cadwell Park, venue of the 44km elite individual time trial course in Lincolnshire.

Without any references on the course and with misfortune as a wasp stung him inside his thigh into the first lap, Dowsett's pace was still impressive, the Essex-based rider leaving Ed Bradbury (NFTO) three-and-a-half minutes back, with Ryan Perry in third at almost 4'. Dowsett, only 26 years old, has this way equalled the four titles obtained by record-holding Stuart Dangerfield.

REACTION / Alex Dowsett: "It's lovely to get it back. It's really significant being national champion. Now every time I do a time-trial I get to wear this, it stands me out as either the British or Dutch national champion! (jokes). I couldn't have lost it to a more talented guy last year in Brad but it's nice to have it back.

"That was tough. I didn't have a radio so I had no idea where I was in relation to anyone else. The course itself - in training I thought it would be easier in the race but it was actually harder, so I had no idea how well I was going out there. But when I saw Matt (Bottrill) I knew that either he was on a horrendous day or I was on a good one. I had a bit of a moment on the second to last corner around here. I've got quite a few friends who race British Superbike and I'm not going to hear the end of it from missing that apex!

"I thought I'd overcooked it a little bit early on. Being as hilly as it is it's difficult - you don't want to give away too much early on but you don't want to go too hard. It wasn't easy getting it right. On lap one I got stung by a wasp just inside my thigh, which kind of added insult to injury. Something always happens at nationals for me. I think I've had a crash, a bike change, being sick as a dog and this year a wasp sting so - yeah - a thrill a minute!"

Picture ©: British Cycling /