Andalusian rider excels in first San Remo appearance, pushes Movistar Team into 2014 WorldTour lead after unfortunate start, with Rojas crashing out.

It started off with misfortune for the Movistar Team, yet it finished with enormous hope on a youngster's bright future. Juanjo Lobato made a magnificent debut in Milano-Sanremo, again infamously demanding on its 294km entirely covered under cold and rain, by finishing 4th into a reduced field sprint as Alexander Kristoff (KAT) raised his arms. That, in a day where the Blues lost their best hope for the day, José Joaquín Rojas, right in the beginning.

The Spaniard, coming into the Classicissima with excellent legs after Paris-Nice, crashed into the neutral zone. Despite covering the opening stages of the race, pain in his left elbow advised him to abandon. Rojas will head back into Spain tomorrow to undergo convenient medical checks, so as to confirm or rule out any kind of fracture in the area affected by such blow.

Without José Joaquín into the race, their team-mates focused on getting through the first selection, with Lobato, Ventoso, Amador and a notable Dayer Quintana able to get into the bunch at the foot of the Cipressa. From there, a 30-rider group -with Nibali (AST) off the front, later caught- led the two Spaniards into the Poggio, where Lobato showed his great condition, always up-front. The Andalusian got boxed in into the sprint after taking the front in the final straight, to finish on the verge of the podium -Ventoso in 17th-. Far from deceptive, Lobato's result underlines the future by the young Spanish sprinter and sets the Movistar Team as new leaders of the World Tour ranking.




Riders overall

  • 1st    Kristoff   (KAT)   6.55.56
  • 2nd    Cancellara   (TFR)   m.t.
  • 3rd    Swift   (SKY)   m.t.
  • 4th    Lobato   (MOV)   m.t.
  • 5th    Cavendish   (OPQ)   m.t.

Movistar Team overall

  • 4th    Juanjo Lobato   m.t.
  • 17th    Fran Ventoso   m.t.
  • 58th    Dayer Quintana   5.29
  • 103rd    Sylwester Szmyd   14.33
  • ABN    Jasha Sütterlin   
  • ABN    Andrey Amador   
  • ABN    José Joaquín Rojas   
  • ABN    Enrique Sanz