Valverde claims World No. 1 title as Movistar squad repeats last year's success as best World Tour team in 2014; colossal performance sees Blues taking 34 victories -including Quintana's Giro d'Italia, the first Grand Tour won in Movistar colours-, third best account in Unzué's 35 years of cycling team management.

The Tour of Beijing, final event of the 2014 UCI WorldTour, also put an end to the Movistar Team's most successful season so far. The telephone squad claimed the biggest honours in the pro scene by conquering both world rankings at their reach: the teams' classification, a back-to-back triumph after their late surge in 2013, and the individual one, thanks to Alejandro Valverde's excellent performances throughout the year. At the teams' ranking, the Movistar Team (1,440 points) beat American outfit BMC Racing Team (1,212) and Russian-backed squad Tinkoff-Saxo (1,186 points.)

During their fourth year in Movistar colours, Eusebio Unzué's squad, which celebrated its 35th consecutive season in the pro ranks during 2014, improved their already outstanding figues from the three previous seasons, claiming 34 victories -the third best tally for the Blues, after 1998 (36 wins) and 1997 (35)– with ten different riders. Besides, 2014 brought the first three-week stagerace win for the Movistar Team with Nairo Quintana's unforgettable success in the Giro d'Italia. The Spanish squad has achieved five podiums in the last seven Grand Tours -Vuelta 2012, Tour & Vuelta '13, Giro & Vuelta '14–.


· UCI WorldTour team ranking - Winners

· 34 victories, with 10 different riders
- Valverde (11); Quintana (7); Malori (5); Dowsett, Lobato, Jesús Herrada (2);  Rojas, Gorka Izagirre, Ion Izagirre, Dayer Quintana, Movistar Team (1).

Grand Tours
- 1 overall victory (Quintana, Giro d'Italia)
- 2 overall podiums (Quintana, 1st, Giro; Valverde, 3rd, Vuelta)
- 5 stage wins (3 - Vuelta; 2 - Giro)

· 8 medals
- World Road Race Championhips (Valverde - bronze)
- TT Commonwealth Games (Dowsett - gold)
- Spanish ITT Championship (Valverde - gold; Ion Izagirre - silver; Castroviejo - bronze)
- Spanish RR Championship (Ion Izagirre - gold; Valverde - silver)
- Italian ITT Championship (Malori - gold)

· 6 one-day races
- Flèche Wallonne
- Clásica San Sebastián
- Roma Maxima
- GP Miguel Indurain
- Vuelta a Murcia
- Prueba Villafranca

· 4 stage races

- Giro d'Italia
- Tour de San Luis
- Vuelta a Andalucía
- Vuelta a Burgos

· 99 podiums
· 258 racing days
· 74 races, 14 countries
· 314,666km covered during the season