Movistar Team leader Valverde (2nd) beaten by Gerrans (OGE) in Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Simon Gerrans of Orica-GreenEdge won the second Monument of his career today, beating Movistar's Alejandro Valverde and Michal Kwiatkowski of Omega Pharma-Quick Step to the line to claim victory in the 100th edition of Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Defending champion Dan Martin of Garmin Sharp had attacked from a select group inside the final kilometre and as he reeled in the two riders ahead, Katusha's Damiano Cunego and AH2R's Domenco Pozzovivo, it looked as though the Irish rider might become the first man to win back-to-back editions since Michele Bartoli in 1997 and 1998.

Coming round the final bend, however, and poised to lead the race into the final 300 metres Martin, second to Valverde at the Flèche Wallonne on Wednesday, crashed to the ground, with no other rider involved in the incident.

Instead it was Australian national champion Gerrans who triumphed at the end of the 263km race, adding the oldest Monument, nicknamed La Doyenne and first raced in 1892, to his palmares which already include the 2012 edition of Milan-San Remo.

1 GERRANS SimonOrica GreenEDGE1006:37:43
2 VALVERDE AlejandroMovistar Team80,,
3 KWIATKOWSKI MichalOmega Pharma - Quick-Step70,,
4 CARUSO GiampaoloTeam Katusha60,,
5 POZZOVIVO DomenicoAG2R La Mondiale500:03
6 SLAGTER Tom-JelteGarmin Sharp40,,
7 KREUZIGER RomanTinkoff-Saxo30,,
8 GILBERT PhilippeBMC Racing Team20,,
9 MORENO DanielTeam Katusha100:05
10 BARDET RomainAG2R La Mondiale40:06

Article taken from RoadCC News